Hollow in Tree

Maple syrup thin and stringy,

Tasting sweet and like cedar,

A fresh and dark, robust

Flavor. It screams, “I’m fresh

And new. I’m from your roots.

I live in the tree. I live in life.

Life. I am life. I sugared even the

Roots of leaves. I am able-bodied,

 Strong. Stable and stead-fast –

Like a rock.

Sturdy, durable. Native.

Unchangeable, timeless.”

Maple Trees, in Spring’s new –

Freezing nights and windy morning.

Sunshine switch to pouring rain.

“I am syrup, sap, and new. I am blood

Of life. Life of the tree.”

3/18/13

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hollow in Tree

Leave a Reply

